Little Citizens of the World

Suva, Fiji

Leave a comment

Bula!!  We were greeted by tons of Fijians shouting “Bulla!” super loudly as we disembarked.  I believe it means ‘hello’.  Fiji is stunning, and hot!  it’s definitely not as “modern” as the US.  I don’t like to use that word but I can’t think of the one I want.  The consumerism of the US doesn’t really exist here.  Yes, there was a McDonalds right in the centre of town and, I admit, it kind of dented the illusion for me.  But people weren’t driving the latest cars or wearing brand names.  They were just doing their own thing and doing it happily.  I’ve never seen such happy people.

Also, they took great pride in beautifying their streets.  Every inch of lawn was covered in beautiful flowers.  There are a lot of islands in the roads and every single one was perfectly manicured with tropical gardens.

Local bus

One of the main streets

Leave a Reply

