Little Citizens of the World

Happy New Year!! Welcome 2013!

Leave a comment

Image

Sydney Harbour 2013

So here we are at the start of a brand new year, so many possibilities ahead!  First of all, let me say that it’s still December 2012 back home at this very moment!  We’re in two different years, how funny is that!  Or is it just me…?  Yes, for another 14 minutes, it is still officially last year on the US east coast!

We had a lovely Christmas, even though it felt like we were the only ones having Christmas in Australia.  There were a few Christmas themed cartoons on tv on Christmas Eve but that was about it.  As for Christmas movies, well nothing like the 25 Days of Christmas back home where there’s at least 3 Christmas movies on a day from December 1st!  I miss that.  No, instead here in sunny Queensland what did they have on tv as Christmas Eve crept closer and closer?  National Lampoons….wait for it….Vegas Vacation!  WHAT?!?!  What in the world kind of thinking is that?  It’s like some kind of cruel plot to torture those of us dying to see Cousin Eddie emptying his RV toilet into the storm drain, or the squirrel attack from the Christmas tree, or dear Aunt Bethany saying grace.  There wasn’t even a Charlie Brown Christmas!  This is the first time in my life, that I haven’t watched Charlie Brown get bullied for bringing home that sweet yet pitiful little tree.

Well, this is a new year!  I have to forgive Australia for not celebrating Christmas properly and hope that in the future they will figure it out.  In the mean time, I am searching relentlessly for a place to call home in the UK.  I adore Scotland but the growing season is very short and my hopes are to be as self suficient as possible by having an organic garden.  The kids are desperate to start a garden!  Since I am hopeless at canning and storing, I was hoping to find something in the Devon, Cornwall area.  Ha!  Not likely on my budget!  Well, I’ll keep looking.  In the meantime, we will continue to spend our days at the beach, playgrounds and zoo.  Getting as much out of our stay here as possible because I know we will miss it terribly when we leave.

But this coming year, Christmas will be cold and frosty with lights and carols and all that good stuff, because they know how to do Christmas in the UK!  …Although I’m not sure they’re very good at Hanukkah.

Leave a Reply

