Little Citizens of the World

“May the road rise up to meet you…”

Leave a comment

Ahhh, Ireland.  So beautiful, so green…so cold!  Here we are, the island of our ancestors.  We are the first to return to Ireland since our family left for Canada in the early 1800’s.   It really is beautiful and I’m glad we have come.  I feel like it’s full circle for our family.  It must have been awful for them to leave home, knowing they would never return.  I feel like I have returned for them.  I am here.  I have brought my children here, to see where they came from and to breathe in the green fields and take these memories with them wherever they go in this world.  Ireland really does feel like coming home.

As for the cold….  Maybe it’s because we’ve been in Australia and haven’t had a proper winter in over a year but it’s cold here!  Back home, friends are still posting pictures at the beach and their kids are wearing t-shirts.  Here, it’s definitely long pants and ‘bring a sweatshirt everywhere’ weather.  Cloudy and overcast most days with the sun peeking out in the late afternoon.  I do love the weather.  Fall, excuse me, autumn is my favorite season.  I’ve missed this.

So, how did we get here?  Well, we spent 4 days in New York City, AMAZING!!!  We then took the Queen Mary II across to Southampton.  I wrote a post about the ship but decided not to post it because it was very negative and I don’t want to be that person or put that kind of energy out there.  Needless to say, it did not live up to it’s expectations or it’s price tag!  If I can help it, I will not use that cruise line again.

Image

Central Park from the Top of The Rock

We spent 4 unbelievable days in London seeing all the tourist sights we could pack in, and I must say, we did quite well!  I cannot tell you how impressed I am with my girls.  They must have walked at least 4 miles everyday.  That doesn’t sound like a lot, I know, but when your 6, that’s huge!!  We took the Underground (the Tube) everywhere and saw so much.

Westminster Abbey

Westminster Abbey

Parliament

Parliament

Rosetta Stone

Rosetta Stone

After London, we caught a train to Wales (gorgeous!!) and the following day, a ferry to Ireland.  The ferry had a huge play area and even a magic show!  You’d never know it was a 4 hour ride, everyone was so content.

Image

Welsh train sign

We arrived in Cork the following day and we are enjoying it greatly.  The city of Cork is not what I expected at all.  There are no skyscrapers or giant office buildings.  It’s more like a very, very, very large village.  It’s beautiful really, and very walkable.  That is one thing I love about Europe, people walk a lot.  In the US, people take cabs, buses, or cars.  In Europe, walking is the transportation of choice.

Image

Oliver Plunkett Street, Cork

We have met several other homeschoolers in and around the city and have had a great time with them.  The moms are all great, some Irish, some American, some German, it’s like a UN of homeschoolers!  I am really enjoying worldschooling with my girls.  We have had experiences I would never have dreamed of 2 or 3 years ago.  They have done things many people will never have the chance to do.  I hope I am instilling a love of travel and exploration that they will always carry with them.

We have more adventures coming soon, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

