Little Citizens of the World

Cherbourg, France

Leave a comment

Our cab driver did speak English, of course he would, and so did the hotel staff.  We had a lovely room in a harbor side hotel.  Can I give you some travel advise here?  When travelling in Europe and booking hotels, ask if there’s an elevator!  I didn’t because there’s no such thing as a hotel in the US without one.  It never occurred to me to check.  So we got the keys to our room, took our suitcases around the back and I began the slow and tedious task of carrying 3 55lb suitcases, 1 double stroller, 3 backpacks, my daughters doll stroller and a handful of plastic shopping bags up 4 very steep stairways!!!  I will never forget to ask about elevators ever again.

I have no idea what Sparrow  is doing here

I have no idea what Sparrow is doing here

 

We walked into town to see what was going on and there was a huge marathon going on.  Because it was a holiday, everything was closed so we watched the runners and strolled around the little side roads.  The little of what we saw of it, Cherbourg is a very sweet little town.  (I just want to add that my computers spell check is insisting I change Cherbourg to cheesburger!)

View from our room

View from our room

 

Watching the race from above

Watching the race from above

 

An amazing drum band

An amazing drum band

Leave a Reply

