Little Citizens of the World

….It’s easy going back again but it’s hard to say goodbye.

Leave a comment

Back across the ocean to my home away from home
Glad to be returning but sad to have to go.
I’d like to find a way to be two places at one time
It’s easy going back again but it’s hard to say goodbye.  -Robbie O’Connell

 

Our time here is almost over but I feel like we’ve only just arrived.  Three months is really no time at all; as soon as you start to settle in, it’s time to start packing up again.  Reconnecting with our wonderful community of friends here has been worth it.  I love these ladies so much, I can’t express it in words.

Because our trip over was so expensive, I really didn’t have the funds to go crazy and travel back through to Italy, like last time, to catch the Holland America ships out of Rome or Barcelona.  Also, the timing of those ships this year would have us miss either Halloween, Thanksgiving, or Christmas, and that just wasn’t an option for us.  So I very reluctantly booked a return on Queen Mary II, but not after searching every other cruise line out there.

We took Queen Mary II over on our last trip to Ireland and it was an awful experience.  Awful.  I didn’t write about it here because it made me angry inside just remembering it.  Also, I don’t want to blog about negativity, there’s enough of that out there.  So I am hoping that this trip will see Queen Mary II redeemed and a lovely experience had by all.  (I’m not going to hold my breath)

We won’t be going back to our island home this time.  We have rented a small house on the mainland, and it will be ours until spring.  Because of the nature of seaside towns, most rentals are available at one rate in winter, and another rate in the summer, when the influx of tourists can bring in more money.

Like the verse above, I am looking forward to the familiarity of being back, but I will miss Ireland terribly, and as soon as I’m home, I know I will start longing to be here again.  If only we could be in two places at one time.

IMG_7245

Fitzgerald Park, Cork City

IMG_7784

Fitzgerald Park, Cork City

IMG_7854

A beautiful walk, Cork City

 

Leave a Reply

